The Coalition for Redistricting Reform Announces a String of High Profile Endorsements

Friday, April 20th, 2018

Friday, April 20, 2018
David Miller, Coalition for Redistricting Reform
(419) 944-1986,

Columbus, Ohio — The Coalition for Redistricting Reform is eager to announce a new batch of organizations who have endorsed a YES vote on Issue 1 this May 8th, the proposed ballot measure which would fix the way Ohio’s gerrymandered congressional districts are drawn.

In addition to previously announced endorsements from the Ohio Democratic Party and Ohio Republican Party, the Coalition today can announce the following endorsements:

Ohio Chamber of Commerce
Ohio Council of Churches
Ohio Education Association
Ohio Environmental Council
Ohio Farm Bureau
NAACP Ohio Chapter

“These endorsements truly signal the bipartisan nature of fixing the way we draw our congressional districts in Ohio,” said Keary McCarthy, an advisor to the campaign. “Our state lawmakers stepped up to make this bipartisan fix to a very partisan problem a reality, and I’m thrilled to see these powerful groups across Ohio come aboard.”

In addition to endorsements by organizations across the political spectrum in Ohio, the Coalition has thus far received endorsements from the editorial boards of the following newspapers:

Akron Beacon-Journal
The Athens News
Cleveland Plain Dealer
Columbus Dispatch
The Findlay Courier
The Lima News

The Coalition for Redistricting Reform is chaired by U.S. Representative Steve Stivers (R-Upper Arlington), U.S. Representative Joyce Beatty (D-Columbus), Ohio Senate President Larry Obhof (R-Medina), Ohio House Speaker Pro Tempore Kirk Schuring (R-Canton), Ohio Senate Minority Leader Kenny Yuko (D-Richmond Heights), Ohio House Minority Leader Fred Strahorn (D-Dayton), and Ann Henkener, Ohio League of Women Voters.

Issue 1 will appear before voters during the May 8th primary election.